College History

Eastern Gateway Community College is a state, public institution of higher education, founded in 1968 at Jefferson County Technical Institute.

Jefferson County Technical Institute was chartered for operation on September 16, 1966, as a public two-year institute by the Ohio Board of Regents, and a Board of Trustees was appointed in compliance with the Ohio Revised Code. Area acceptance and support for the technical institute was confirmed in fall 1966, when Jefferson County voters approved a one mill, 10-year levy to assist in the support of the facility. The levy has been renewed four times, the latest in 2006.

The Ohio Board of Regents approved a name change for the institute to Jefferson Technical College in 1977. In 1995, the college expanded its mission to provide associate degrees for transfer to four-year institutions and was renamed Jefferson Community College. On Oct. 9, 2009, Eastern Gateway Community College began officially serving the public with its broader mission and expanded service district to include Columbiana, Jefferson, Mahoning and Trubull counties.

Following the initial phase of construction, the institute opened the doors of the Jefferson County Campus in Steubenville on September 23, 1968, to admit the first class of 320 students. Several construction phases brought the college's size to about 160,000 square feet of classrooms, laboratories, lounges, and offices as well as outdoor facilities. The college also operates the Pugliese Center in Steubenville.

Two additional sites also are used throughout the district -- Valley Center, Youngstown; and Warren Center, Warren. The college also uses other delivery sites.

Since 1968, more than 45,000 different students have enrolled in one or more classes for credit applicable to a higher education degree or certificate.