Two Eastern Gateway Community College students have been named to the prestigious All-Ohio Academic Team.

Morgan Coulter, a Wintersville resident and graduate of Steubenville High School, was recognized as a Third Team Member and received a $250 award for her academic prowess.

Steubenville resident Alicia Ziarko, who is also a graduate of Steubenville High School, was named a First Team Member – which is top 10 in the state of Ohio. She received a $1,000 award for her outstanding academic achievement during her time studying at Eastern Gateway’s main campus.

The All-Ohio Academic Team program provides statewide recognition and cash scholarships to outstanding two-year college students. Eligible students are nominated by their institutions and are judged by the All-USA Academic Team Judging Panel. This year, 55 students from Ohio’s 23 public community and technical colleges were selected as First Team, Second Team or Third Team All-Ohio Academic Team Members.

Coulter and Ziarko were introduced as members of the 2016 All-Ohio Academic Team before an assembly of administrators, faculty, staff and family during EGCC’s annual Honors Convocation ceremony on May 17 at the college’s Jefferson County campus.

Both Coulter and Ziarko plan to further their educational pursuits. Coulter will continue her business management studies at Franklin University, while Ziarko will pursue her bachelor’s degree in early childhood education at Franciscan University of Steubenville.


Pictured: Phi Theta Kappa Advisor William Verlest and Alicia Ziarko

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply